Will my insurance rates go up as a result of a DUI on my record in California?Besides giving you a criminal record, a DUI arrest can have other consequences. If you get a DUI conviction in California, your car insurance will almost certainly go up. Like most states, the California DMV uses a point system in order to rate drivers. Insurance companies generally use the point system in their premium calculations. The general rule is, the more points you have, the higher your premiums will go. Points remain on your record for a set number of years depending on the traffic violation. As of January 1, 2007, a DUI conviction will remain on your record for 10 years from the violation date (typically the date you were pulled over and cited) and count as 2 points. Contrast that to most other traffic offense convictions, which remain on your record for only 3 years and count as one 1 point.
A "wet reckless" conviction will be reported for 7 years and also counts as 2 points. A "wet reckless" charge is often offered as part of a plea bargain deal to those charged with a DUI. Most insurers consider a "wet reckless" to be the same as a DUI offense; however, the DUI penalty results in points being on your record for 3 years longer than the "wet reckless." Those who are convicted of a DUI or a "wet reckless" charge are not permitted to attend traffic school for that offense. If you are facing a DUI charge, you should consider contacting an experienced California DUI defense attorney.
For more information on CA DUIs, click on the following articles: